Latest Info

hosting image
You can protect your privacy using Google Chrome like this

Image Credits: Sam Kresslein/Shutterstock.com

You can protect your privacy using Google Chrome like this

Privacy in Google Chrome

In the case of having our Google account synchronized, we are losing privacy. This means that we have to send all that data to Google to synchronize it with the rest of your devices, which can compromise our privacy to some extent. One way in which we can avoid this is by limiting the amount of data that we want to synchronize in our Google account. In the upper right corner of the browser, if we click on the initial of your synchronized Google account, you have to choose Manage your Google account. There, in the Data and privacy section, you can review what activity you will be collecting.

On the other hand, also in the upper right corner of the browser, we will click on the icon with the three vertical dots. There we will click on Settings, the options that interest us are Privacy and security.

One of the sections that interest us the most is Clear browsing data. There, in the Basic tab, we select Since always and we choose the corresponding options to erase the browsing history, cookies, and the file cache. This should be done regularly so as not to leave a trace on the Internet. For example, companies and agencies can take advantage of the Adware Tracking Cookie.

In the Cookies and other site data section, we can choose the behavior of cookies. One option would be to block all cookies but it would not be recommended because we could not use some services. The ideal would be to opt for an intermediate option that would be to Block third-party cookies in incognito. The last section we are interested in is Site Settings which controls the information that can be used and displayed by sites in which to modify location, camera, microphone, and more permissions. For example, we can control whether or not that website sends us notifications.

Also to get more privacy in Google Chrome we should think about reviewing our browser add-ons. In this regard, you have to try to make them the least possible, trustworthy and avoid some such as Flash or JavaScript.

Do this if you lend your PC to other people

Usually, most users use Google Chrome on their own computer, and at most, they share it with people they trust. What happens is that this is not always possible and to maintain privacy in Google Chrome we have several options available. Those options that Chrome offers us are the incognito mode and the guest mode that has been present in the browser for a long time. In addition, it must be added that both incognito and guest mode are available to us by default, this means that we will not have to install anything.

Now we are going to briefly explain what these two options consist of to save our privacy in Google Chrome. A brief explanation of each one would be:

  • The incognito: just what it does is it allows us to navigate without our data remaining in the registry. In that aspect, our saved passwords are accessible and so are our bookmarks.
  • The guest mode: will allow us to create a separate profile that will work in isolation so as not to compromise our data and those of other users. They will not be able to see our bookmarks or access our passwords.